b

Books like alice in wonderland

Books like alice in wonderland

Alice in wonderland illustrated bookshelf tour | beautiful books

There is no denying the impact of Lewis Carroll’s 1865 classic, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, on everything from film and television to comic strips and live performances. This timeless tale has proven to have enduring appeal to both adults and children, despite being part of the literary nonsense genre. The story begins with a bored girl named Alice chasing a white rabbit down a rabbit hole, where she ends up in Wonderland after a long fall. Surprisingly, the book did not immediately become popular with reviewers, but as time passed, it rose in popularity. Since Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is still a beloved classic, here are a few other books that are close to it.
Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There, the direct sequel written by the same author, is the most related book to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. This time, she uses a mirror to enter a world in which all is the opposite of how it is in ours. Alice encounters a few familiar faces, such as the Red Queen, but this time the theme is chess rather than playing cards, as in the first novel.

My alice in wonderland book collection! part 1

Lewis Carroll’s Alice books are often said to be the foundation of all subsequent children’s literature, and I tend to agree. Before 1865, there were books for girls, but they were almost all written to express a moral message. Good children act in this way; poor children act in this way, and they are disciplined and served properly. For the first time, we see a reasonable child participating in a story whose sole purpose was to be entertaining. They were loved by both children and adults at the same time and have never ceased to be so. They’re just as important, clever, and humorous today as they were 150 years ago.
The origins of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland can be traced back to Charles Ludwidge Dodgson, the book’s author. Charles was a natural storyteller who came up with new tales to amuse his friends on a regular basis. He understood that the best stories put the child at the core of the plot, enabling their imagination to travel to exciting and wonderful locations.
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland was conceived on a summer day in Oxford, inspired by real events and a real girl. The river ride with the Liddell family from Folly Bridge to Godstow on July 4, 1862, is now famous for spawning the Alice novel. The Dean of Christ Church, Oxford (where Charles was a lecturer in Mathematics) and his family traveled downriver with Charles L. Dodgson. He told the family a story about a bored little girl named Alice who finds adventure along the way. The family was enthralled, and Alice Liddell, the daughter, insisted that the tale be written down at the end of the day. Charles L. Dodgson agreed, and the next day he started writing the novel. It took him two and a half years to finish the project.

My giant alice in wonderland collection (70+

I believe we should all admit to being enchanted by Alice in Wonderland, whether it’s the old animated Disney film, the newer Tim Burton film, or the book Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. When Lewis Carroll wrote the novel in the nineteenth century, he really created a masterpiece, and it has become a part of so many people’s lives. However, once you’ve read it a few times, you could crave something different! If you enjoyed Alice in Wonderland, you can read these 7 novels.
Although you might have seen the movie adaptation of this novel, it is still well worth reading. Coraline finds a passageway that leads to a darker, more interesting version of her own universe, which fascinates her until she knows she can’t return.
Since you enjoy Alice in Wonderland novels, you’ve probably read Lewis Carroll’s poem The Jabberwocky. The author extends the tale told in the poem line by line in this book. You’ll grow feelings for the characters, and by the end, you’ll be deeply involved in both the book and the poem.

Alice in wonderland collection!

Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland has sparked a slew of adaptations and reimaginings since its publication over 150 years ago. References can be found anywhere, from James Joyce’s near-impossible-to-read Modernist tome Finnegans Wake to the 1970s reefer madness tract Go Ask Alice. (Pardon me for being pedantic, but what we commonly refer to as “Alice in Wonderland” is actually two books: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass.) Alice’s adventures have captivated readers since the beginning.
Part of the appeal of these books is that they incorporate elements of the monomythic hero’s journey: Alice travels into the underworld and back out again, undergoing personal transformation and triumphing over chaos. From Gilgamesh to Star Wars, people have a thing for monomyth. Carroll’s wordplay and nonsensical rhymes are also excellent; the poem “The Jabberwocky” from Through the Looking-Glass has given the English language many new words (galumph, chortle, vorpal, and so on). Alice’s exploits inspired phrases like “down the rabbit hole,” “curiouser and curiouser,” and the political insult “Tweedledee and Tweedledum.”